Professor Cay Kielty will be the recipient of the Fell-Muir Award 2017

The prestigious Fell-Muir Award for scientists who have made a major contribution to extracellular matrix research has been awarded to Professor Cay Kielty of the University of Manchester. Cay will receive the award at the Spring BSMB meeting to be held in Oxford.

Posted in Awards

Contaminants in commercial preparations of ‘purified’ proteoglycans

BSMB members’ attention is drawn to a recent publication by Brown et al Bioscience Reports (2017) 37 BSR20160465
DOI: 10.1042/BSR20160465

Posted in General News

3rd Matrix Biology Europe Meeting – Manchester 2018

In July 2018, the British Society for Matrix Biology is hosting and organising the 3rd Matrix Biology Europe meeting. The meeting will celebrate 50 years of FECTS (The Federation of European Connective Tissue Societies), the forerunner of Matrix Biology Europe. It will be held at University Place in the University of Manchester, 21st – 24th July 2018. Further details are available on the meeting website

Posted in Meetings

Thomas Cox is awarded the John Scott Young Investigator Award, 2016

Dr Thomas Cox of the University of Copenhagen was selected for this prestigious award, and will receive a cheque for £1,000. He will present the John Scott Lecture at the next BSMB meeting, to be held in Cardiff this September. Further details of the BSMB Young Investigator Award and how to apply for next year’s competition can be found here.

Posted in Awards

Edward Horton is awarded the Dick Heinegard Young Investigator Award 2016

The winner of this prestigious award was our BSMB nominee, Edward R. Horton, for research carried out during his Ph.D. studies in Martin Humphries lab., University of Manchester.

Posted in Awards

John Scott Young Investigator Award Competition, 2016

Applications are invited for this year’s John Scott Young Investigator Award. This award is open to scientists up to the age of 35. Full details of the application process are available on the BSMB YIA webpage.

The deadline for applications is the 29th July 2016

Posted in Awards

Three Lecturer/Senior Lecturer/Reader positions available at University of East Anglia Medical School, Norwich

Norwich Medical School is seeking to attract outstanding non-clinical researchers to three new posts in a number of fields as stated below:

  • Biological Sciences
  • Nutritional Biochemistry
  • Epidemiology and Public Health
  • Cancer
  • Cardiovascular and Cardiometabolic Sciences
  • Health Science
  • Health Services Research
  • Medical Microbiology
  • Clinical and Applied Psychology
  • Respiratory Medicine

Please note that Musculoskeletal Science is included as a potential area for recruitment.

Appointments will be made at a level appropriate to the experience of each of the three appointees. The successful applicants will be expected to carry out independent high quality research aimed at improving our understanding of Medical Science and allied fields.

Interested parties are directed to the UEA Academic vacancies website. The closing date is 12 noon on the 26th February.

Posted in Job vacancy

Ed Horton is the BSMB nominee for the 2016 Dick Heinegård European Young Investigator Award

Ed Horton

Ed Horton

This Award was set up in 2013 by the European national Matrix Biology Societies to commemorate the life and work of the great matrix biologist, Dick Heinegård. BSMB is delighted to announce Edward Horton (Wellcome Trust Centre, University of Manchester) as our UK nominee for the 2016 competition. Ed has researched the proteomics of integrin adhesion complexes, with an emphasis on comparison of complex composition in invasive cancer cell models.

Ed’s candidature will now be presented to the MBE 2016 Dick Heinegård European Young Investigator Award Selection Committee. This committee will select from all the national nominees six finalists who will present their research in a special Young Investigators session at the MBE/FECTS meeting in Athens in June. After this session, the Selection committee will vote for the overall winner of the 2016 Dick Heinegård European Young Investigator Award.

We wish Ed all the best on reaching the second, international stage of this competition and for representing BSMB at MBE 2016.

Posted in Awards

Dick Heinegard European Young Investigator Award 2016: BSMB National competition 2016

Applications are invited for the BSMB national competition for the Dick Heinegard European Young Investigator Award 2016. This award is targeted at early career post-doctoral researchers and is named in memory of the great European Matrix Biologist, Dick Heinegaard. The outcome of the competition will be decided at the MBE 2016 conference (Athens, Greece, June 11-14, 2016, www.mbe2016.upatras).

Each affiliated European Matrix Biology Society will first hold its own competition to select their national nominee for the Award.

The Young Investigator Awards Committee of MBE 2016 will then consider each nomination and select the 6 strongest for oral presentation during the Young Investigator Award Session of the Conference. Nominations that are not included in final competition Session will be given an oral presentation in an appropriate Workshop. The Awards Committee will then select the winner of The Dick Heinegaard MBE Young Investigator Award 2016 based on the overall quality of the science and the oral presentation.

BSMB will support the registration, travel and accommodation costs of the BSMB nominee to attend MBE 2016 to a maximum of £900.

Candidates for this Award should have no more than 5 years postdoctoral research experience as of 1st October 2015.

Candidates for the BSMB nomination should apply by sending their full CV including list of publications and an abstract of the work to be presented at the MBE/FECTS Conference to the BSMB Bursaries representative, Tom vanAgtmael, by 25th Jan 2016 at the latest. 

Posted in Awards

Professor Karl Kadler to receive the Fell-Muir Award 2016

The 2016 Fell-Muir award goes to Professor Karl Kadler, University of Manchester, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to matrix biology. Karl will receive the award after his presentation at the Spring meeting in Chester.

Posted in Awards